Home

On Saturday the 19th of January, you drove up Road 80 in Livermore, and right in front of the sign, Cross Creek Ranch, you hit our dog. You didn’t even brake. You were the log truck or the truck with the horse trailer attached to it. Either way, you aren’t that nice of a person. We are the only house that faces Road 80 and our dog was right in front of our yard. There would’ve been no mistaking who’s dog it was.

What you don’t know, is that we put down a beautiful, yellow Labrador that we had 11.4 years, only 17 days before you killed Rover. You have caused us needless pain. It would’ve been even more palatable if you had simply stopped and said you were sorry. Instead, our dog laid there bleeding for over 3 hours, right in front of our home. We know you were in a hurry to deliver those logs, or get your horses back to your house, but it would’ve only taken 5 minutes out of your day to ease our pain a tiny bit.

As it stands, we feel your discourteous nature will get you one day. It may not be in a big way, but you will feel pain because, “Karma is a bitch.” That saying didn’t come from “out of the blue either.”

IMG_2453

This is our beautiful dog, Rover. He was only 2 years old. You know you hit him, you just didn’t bother to stop. You are a jerk. I hope you read this.

10 thoughts on “You Killed Our Dog

    • Rover lived on 16,000 acres in Livermore, Co, so no, he didn’t escape from anything. The road in front of our home is not well-traveled either. I believe 4 cars went by on Saturday–all day.

      • Before you read this let me tell you beforehand I love dogs. I think dogs are one of the most loving, loyal, protective, compassionate, goodhearted, unconditionally loving and accepting best friends on the planet. I have owned and loved dogs before. They deserve our respect, love, and protection. It is because I love dogs I am posting this. I am also warning you beforehand, I will probably piss you off royally because of what I’m about to say. I read this posting two days ago on facebook and the content has haunted me because I have carried the pain of Rover’s horrible, senseless, easily avoidable death with me for days now. Even now, I am sick to my stomach about it. My heart has been breaking over it. I do not condone knowingly leaving an animal that has just been run over by me or anyone else to suffer and die by the road, and I also know there are always other possibilities that exist in this case that perhaps you have not considered. I am posting the other possibilities at the risk that you and others reading it will think me hardhearted, uncaring and judgmental which is far from the truth. This is one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to write, but I feel compelled to speak out because I have seen this kind of horrible tragedy over and over again. Firstly, what really bothers me is that you make no mention whatever of your responsibility as dog owners regarding the death of your beloved family member. If you valued and loved Rover, why didn’t you have him enclosed? I asked you directly if Rover was enclosed and you said no, so I’m not making any assumption. You told me that your road is very rarely traveled, but apparently it is traveled enough that Rover got run over. Just because you live in the country does not mean you can let your dog run loose. Dogs need to be contained because they don’t know what people do and it is your responsibility to protect your dog from harm and yourself from liability. That can best be done with an enclosure. When dogs run loose there is no way for their owners to know what they are up to while they are out running loose. The fact that your dog lay in the road bleeding to death for 3 hours before you even knew it is tragic testament of my point. Here’s what else dogs that are allowed to run loose in the country get up to when their owners aren’t around: even the most docile dogs are pack animals and sometimes they gather together and attack livestock and kill them and as a result get shot at, wounded, and killed by farmers and ranchers, sometimes they are poisoned by mean people who think they have the right to do that to dogs that are allowed to wander or just because they can and they hate dogs. Wandering packs attack other dogs as well as people minding their own business on their own property. A case in point that I know personally of: a woman I know would have been mauled and possibly killed by a pack of dogs. As it is, one of her dogs that were protecting her was mauled so badly by the pack the dog almost died and that was avoided only because the second dog the woman owned came in and aided them. They’d complained to the neighbors before about these wandering dogs, but they didn’t care. Thank God she had her own dogs to protect her. The reason the dogs were there to protect her was because she kept her dogs contained and did not allow them to wander even though she lived out in the country. The nearest vet hospital was over 50 miles away as was the nearest hospital. Other things that happen to dogs that wander: They get caught in traps, lost, hurt and wild animals maul, kill, and eat them and their owners never see them again. I know what I’m talking about because all of these things have happened to dogs that lived in the country and were allowed to run loose. Why do you assume that the driver of the vehicle knew they hit Rover? It could be they didn’t even see him. If you have ever driven a vehicle as large as a logging truck, you would know it is altogether possible to run over an animal while driving a large truck on a dark country road with no lighting and not know it. Even with lighting it can happen because of blind spots. To drive a vehicle of that size, you must drive the back of it through the use of your mirrors. You assume you know what happened to Rover and the fact is you don’t and you never will because you weren’t there. You only know the tragic end result. For all you know, Rover could have run after the truck as it was passing or another animal and gotten run over by the trailer part of the truck and the driver never even saw or felt hitting Rover. It’s bad enough your beloved dog has died so horribly without making assumptions that only create more pain and hatred in your heart. The last thing I want to say is this. Have you been paying attention to the news lately? We read about and hear on the news about people being shot for nothing, so what makes you think someone would feel safe enough to go up a private road to tell people they don’t know in an isolated place that they’d just run over one of their beloved family members? There are private property owners that shoot people who come onto their land first and ask questions last. Not only that, given the meanness of some country dogs that are allowed to run loose, what makes you think the person who ran over Rover would be confident or competent enough to get out and attend to a wounded animal they know nothing about? Wounded animals are completely unpredictable. Even the nicest dog when wounded could lash out in fear and pain at someone giving aid. Yes, it was inexcusably cowardly and calloused if the person knew they hit Rover to just keep going. Have you ever thought what a person who runs over another person’s animal is subjected to simply because the owner of the animal didn’t contain them? I don’t have to think about it, I’ve had it happen. I was in hell. I had to first knock on each door and find the owner and once I found them, look them in their eyes and tell them their beloved pet was no more and listen to their kids cry in grief. I was hysterical and I’ll never forget the feeling, ever. All that I and the owners went through could have been completely avoided if their pet had been contained. I get that we don’t live in a perfect world and even contained animals get out and are killed. I get that there are mean people that come onto someone’s property and kill contained animals because they are mean too. I am not writing this to make you feel worse than you already do. I am speaking out because I think you did love Rover. It is evident in your post you did. I also think you made a common mistake that many dog owners that live in the country do or for that matter even in the city and that is you let Rover run loose. I think like many people who own dogs you thought you were doing something nice for Rover, letting him explore and enjoy the freedom of being in the country without fully considering all the consequences to Rover, others, and yourself because you have been told that is what you do with dogs if you love them and live in the country. If you want to allow your dog to run loose, that is your choice, but if you make that choice then at least be fair and take the responsibility for your part in the result instead of blaming someone else and hating them. I say most sincerely, I am so sorry about your dog, Rover. I am sorry for your grief and I am really sorry for Rover the world is less because he is not in it. No living being deserves to suffer such a fate as Rover did and to that end, I’m begging you, most compassionately, if you own another dog ever again, please, build him or her a spacious compound where you know he/she can play and explore and be safe. Please, don’t add me to your hate list. Despite my directness and intensity, I’m not judging you; I just care passionately about you, your dog, and everyone else.

      • You obviously care about animals and took time to write about many problems with loose animals. However, almost all of your information does not fit Rover’s situation. We were at home. Our dogs have a very nice enclosure in the barn, where we put them when we are gone, unless we take them to doggy daycare. At night they sleep in the house and are not running in a pack. We don’t approve of that either.
        We already feel guilty that Rover was on the road. Your lecture, however well-intended was not appropriate and based on much speculation. My husband was outside working and visible to anyone who wanted to drive up our lane. Rover did not suffer, it appears. Maybe the person who was driving whatever hit him was unaware. We thought of that. We believe Rover was by the gate looking for rabbits that hide in the drainage pipe under the lane, flushed one out, and was intent on chasing it. It was our fault we did not see him go to the gate. It had never been a problem in the past. Now we are grieving what happened, whether our fault, the driver’s fault, Rover’s fault or no one’s fault. We appreciate your expressed sympathy and concern for Rover. We do not appreciate the misplaced lecture.

      • Alan, shared Rover with me. I now have a deeper understanding of how precious he was to you and what a magnificent being he was and how extraordinary his life story is. I am deeply touched by both your and Alan’s compassion, generosity and grace. I have read every word and watched every bit of the pictures. I laughed and cried and laughed and cried some more. I loved, and shared on facebook, the memorial of Max. That you, Alan, and your dogs are family is evident in the deep love, respect, and connection you have with each other. I have taken the liberty of sharing the link to Rover’s story on Facebook so people know more about him than his death. His life is a testament of how much joy another being can bring into another’s life if we are but open to receiving it. I am glad to know that people like you and Alan exist in the world. You give me hope. I apologize if my words have added to your and Alan’s grief, you certainly do no deserve it nor was it my intent. I appreciate the time you have taken to educate me about the kind of people and owners you are. You didn’t have to, but you did it anyway. You don’t let your dogs wander and I am relieved to know Rover did not suffer. You have given me another picture in my mind, a joyful one of Rover. Thank you.

  1. A friend of mine shared your loss… I am just a stranger, but I am saddened by your loss. It seems we are filled with a world of ugly people, but I will tell you this… There are so many good people in this world that care about one another. We just have to be proactive in the way we do things. I hope you find peace and heal from this experience. Know that there are folks that do care about what you are going through. ❤

Leave a Reply

